Qualifying Groups For African World Cup 2010

Stage 2 of the CAF (Africa) World Cup Qualifying campaign was drawn today at a gala ceremony in Durban.With the pre-preliminary round already complete, hopefuls from across the continent will join top seeds such as Nigeria, Ghana and Cameroon for the second of three Stages.There are twelve groups of four taking part, and the twelve group winners shall advance to Stage 3 along with the eight best-runners up.
From there, the 20 remaining teams will be split into five groups of four for a qualification battle that also serves to determine who will play at the 2010 African Cup of Nations in Angola.The four group winners in Stage 3 advance ot the World Cup, and they're joined by second and third place from each group at the Cup of Nations.
This means that South Africa will actually take part in the WC qualifying campaign despite being hosts of the World Cup, and Angola will do likewise in spite of being in the Cup of Nations.Angola will compete only for a World Cup place while South Africa will obviously play only towards a spot in the Cup of Nations.Those groups in full:Group
1CameroonCapeVerdeIslands TanzaniaMauritius
4NigeriaSouth AfricaEquatorial Guinea Sierra Leone
9TunisiaBurkina FasoBurundiSeychelles
12EgyptCongo DRMalawiDjibouti.

No comments:

Post a Comment